Sunday, November 30, 2008

Ruth, the Feast of Weeks, and Pentecost

There are seven feasts celebrated in the Old Testament:

  1. First Month: First Coming of Christ
    1. Passover: 15 Nissan
    2. Feast of Unleavened Bread: 15-21 Nissan
    3. Feast of First Fruits: 16 Nissan-6 Sivan
  2. Third Month: Feast of Pentecost, Shavuot: 6-7 Sivan
  3. Seventh Month: Second Coming of Christ
    1. Feast of Trumpets, Rosh Hashanah: 1 Tishrei, Jewish New Year
    2. Day of Atonement, Yom Kippur: 10 Tishrei
    3. Feast of Tabernacles (or Booths or Tabernacles), Sukkot: 15-21 Tishrei
This outline is influenced by information from the following link:

Passover, Pentecost, and Tabernacles make up the Shalosh Regalim, or three pilgrimage festivals of Judaism.

Ruth is read during the Jewish celebration of Shavuot, which corresponds to the Christian celebration of Pentecost in Acts 2.

No comments:

Post a Comment